Oh thank the Gods, oh praise the maidens, oh rub thy body with things that make thy body feel rubbed. Combat rogues have been loved again. Kind of. Sort of. Well hey, it’s better than a poke in the eye with a sharp stick. Which is how I’ve felt for most of level 80 so far.

In Burning Crusade, combat rogues, and more specifically combat sword rogues, were the hot biscuit. We were the build of builds if you were a raider. A rogue is his weapons, and the swords were awesome. It was all awesome. I was awesome. DPS chart topper extreme.

Cut to Wrath of the Moron King. Cut to me hitting level 80. Now, I planned my way to level 80. I checked out all the factions, mostly due to this awesome post from my favorite rogue blog over at “One rogues Journey”. First up for me was weapons, which meant swords. At this point I had no idea of the suck factor of combat sword rogues in Wrath of the Suck me off King. So I got Honored with the Wyrmrest Accord for the Fang of Truth off hand, (I had this by level 77), and I got Revered with The Knights of the Ebon Blade so as to pick up The Reaper of Dark Souls for my main hand. I had both of these in my pack by the time level 80 went Ding! I got the Exalted Ebon Blade chestpiece fairly quickly, picked up the crafted epics for shoulders, back and waist, and used my emblems for the lovely Mirror of Truth trinket. The rest of my gear was all high level blues, from quests, crafted and drops which I had specifically sort out. When I went into Naxx I had prepared myself as best as best could be.

And that’s when the grand level of suck began. It doesn’t help that trash mobs in Naxx are AoE fests. There really is no point in melee dps from going in there. By the time you get there and spam a couple of Fan of Knives, they’re not only already dead but they’ve been looted and had a nice burial with a warm service by the priest. Then we get to the Bosses. I’ve noticed that ranged dps seems to be doing a lot of damage in these fights. Now Hunters spamming auto-shot have always been a pain, but it truly seems now that they can hit auto-shot, go away and get a cup of coffee, come back and the boss is dead, they’re alive and they’ve hit 2300 dps. But us melee dps? What do we have to do? We have to run around. A lot. I can’t hit any boss for longer than 30 seconds before I’m having to run here to doge this and get out of the way of that and then run back and have to do it all over again. Add to that my dodgy graphic card which is about to be ripped out and hurled against the wall, and my dps has been hovering around 1500. It doesn’t help that I’ve ran Naxx twice and all I’ve got for my efforts is a necklace. Whoop-ti-do.

But the real problem is my weapons. They’re not up to the job. There is a combat sword that is an emblem reward, The Grasscutter offhand. But it costs 50 badges and the dps upgrade after plugging it into my dps spreadsheet is a measly pathetic 5 dps. Not really worth 50 badges that.

So what has happened in the new patch for combat rogues to make me feel better? Adrenaline Rush cooldown has plummeted to 3 minutes from the previous 5 minute eternity. This means I will be able to hit this sucker at least twice during most boss fights. It almost makes the Glyph for this worth thinking about. Killing Spree, Savage Combat and Lightning Reflexes have all been buffed as well. An awesome change is that Tricks of the Trade now procs when you do first damage. No more thinking that the Tank is charging, hitting Tricks with its 25 second timer and then watching the Tank decide that he wasn’t ready to go after all. The stupid steel wearing dumbo. I’m going to hit this talent build and see what Naxx brings me this weekend.

Hopefully a sword. Or a Fist. Or a sharp stick.

Update after a quick VoA raid last night where we tried to down the new second boss and failed miserably. Tricks of the Trade still has its 25 second countdown, so I misunderstood that one completely. After reading on a few different sites, mainly the wowhead and Elitist jerks forums that eviscerate was working better than rupture, I gave that a try. I also switched to Deadly poison on offhand instead of wound and kept wound on main hand. The result was a jump in average dps from 1500 to 2000. Nice.

