So we all know that the patch has hit and that rogues AoE ability has been nerfed into the ground, and we also know what I think of that: I think that it was needed as I said in an earlier post, (incedently, all of those who wrote to me about that post telling me things like I should stop sucking Blizzards cock and other hidden gems, can you please do that again as I thought they were hilarious but sadly I deleted them by mistake.)

Anyway, I’ve just got back from holiday and right at this very moment I am updating WoW with the new patch. Being bored, I decided to have a gander through the patch notes. Nothing new there, all the usual stuff, no new cool inscriptions for rogues, I’ll just pop through the bug fixes and … what the hell?

# Rogue

* Vanish: This ability now correctly removes the snaring component of Frostfire Bolt.

This by itself is not going to fix Vanish, obviously. Blind Freddy and a host of Stevie Wonder clones can see that. But is it a start? And if it is, why so little? Just one tiny little vanish bug fix? Why, at this rate we should have Vanish up and running well by 2012. I mean, this is what Ghostcralwer had to say about Vanish in the rogue Q & A recently:

“Vanish isn’t working properly and breaks when you breathe on the rogue funny…”

So the issues of Vanish are well known at Blizzard and it gets one tiny little bug fix in the next patch. It’s weird. But what is more weird is that I cannot find any comment on this on the net. Nothing on Elitest Jerks, wowhead, you name it. The forums are silent and dead. Everyone has lost their head to the FoK obliviation and are running around like headless chickens at an apple bobbing competition. It’s not even on the wiki vanish page. Which means that this has been missed.
Now, I don’t PvP anymore, and Vanish isn’t really a problem for me. I mostly use it as an “Oh my God I have pulled major threat!” button in raids. But I am aware of the continual crying and complaining on rogue forums net-wide whenever some new patch notes come up. “What about Vanish?, cry cry cry … rinse and repeat.” So here comes a small Vanish bug improvement and it flies completely under the radar. Weird. So why could this be so?

According to the wiki page, the PvP rogue community presently sees Vanish as primarily a root/snare breaker. Hmm … this bug fix addresses this directly. Nothing about this on the Fostfire Bolt comments page on WoWhead either. I don’t know, I give up. Can anyone enlighten me as to why this has got zero response from the rogue community, either positive or negative?

(Your prize will be a trip for two to Westfall complete with level 8 rogues!)