I try not to make personal posts on this blog on what I’m doing in WoW, as lets be honest, who really gives a shit? You guys are most probably beyond caring that I just got this new drop in this raid, and awesome, now what am I going to gem it with, ooh, I need an enchant, but I went out farming to get the mats but then there were all these noobs farming there too, and they told me to go away and I was pissed so then …

You get the idea.

But I will go a little bit personal today as regards to how the guild is going. It’s going downhill slowly. Summer is always a brutal time of year for a guild, but this summer was even worse than usual. We launched the guild in April if I remember correctly, and we were just on our roll when we stumbled into Summer. And we lost all momentum. Officers took holidays and couldn’t play much because of work, myself as the GM was most at fualt here and I had the added obstacle of getting married in September. Our raiding dropped completely away, recruitment fell to blind chance and the guild became an area where you could say ‘grats’ on chat to someone for catching 100 fish. On top of that, it seems as if a lot of players have lost some enthusiasm for the game. Wrath of the Lich King has run out of steam, or so it seems to me.
So last night we had a little officers meeting on vent and we discussed what to do. The decision we took was to slowly work up to getting a high quality core raiding group going again, just focusing on 10 mans. Sunday is our raiding night, and this Sunday we’re going to hit Ulduar. We have invited players that we know are keen to get back into raiding and have given every officer moderator status on the guild event to invite those that we may have missed or who express keen interest. So far so good. How do we communicate all this then? We can’t use the in-game ‘guild message of the day’, as it is useless now that Blizzard has decided to use the same start-up space to advertise mountain dew. I suppose that we should just use the guild website and forum on which we spent so much time setting up. That would make sense, right?

Trying to get members to use the forum is like trying to herd cats. We have probably 5 or 6 members who actively use the forums. The rest of the guild may log on to check something, if you whisper them to do it seven times in a row, whilst sacrificing a goat in a ritual of blood during a waning moon on a day of the week that does not conclude with the letter ‘y’. It’s all well and good to broadly declare that guildies who do not sign up on the website will be last to be invited etc, but the fact is, when you’re having problems getting ten people to sign up you cannot be so high minded. But it isn’t just a situation of the forum not working at this point in time. Even when our guild was at its peak, forum useage was dire at best.

So how do you encourage people to use the forum? I have tried many ways but all have been to no avail. It seems that logging onto a bookmarked site, pressing a reply button and writing “I would like to come to the raid”, or “obey Henry”, really is asking too much of people who can spend five hours on WoW cruising around farming titanium. So I have decided to do a little experiment to find out how many people check the forum on a regular basis. I have posted a thread titled:

“Free Gold! Yes, Free! Gold for you!”

I thought that was catchy. The post goes on to say:

“Hello,

I am presently trying to find out how many of us actually use the guild forums on a regular basis.

Those of you who post in this thread today will receive 50 gold from the guild bank.

Those of you who post in here tomorrow will receive 25 gold from the guild bank.

I would ask everyone who sees this post to NOT tell anyone about it. I am trying to find out imformation on forum usage, not word of mouth.

Also, obey Henry. That is all.

ElizĂ .”

This is my first step on the road of either bankrupting the guild or finding out how many people actually check the forum. Will it generate interest in the guild website? I hope so. It’s either this or naked ElizĂ  dancing on mailbox pics.