I met some nice kids today, (ages around 15). I was teaching at their school, explaining to them how to stuff up the English language, (I live in Italy for those who don’t know or haven’t given a shit about my background, which is fair enough.) To start off I got them to ask me questions about myself, trying to draw them out a bit. We got past the usual stuff, what’s your name, where are you from, does the flight speed of a fully laden african swallow differ from their European counterparts. Until a young kid stuck up his hand and asked me, do you know World of Warcraft?

Yeah, actually I do.

Which shocked them. It shocked them even more when I told them that I played. A teacher who does the stuff that we do? Heavens forbid! So we got talking about character classes, I told them that I play a rogue, then I made fun of them for playing a shaman, (even though I think shamans are pretty cool), and then I asked them if they played more PvP or PvE. And they all play PvP. What about raids, I asked them. Don’t you do any of those. They all shook their heads. I told them that they were missing out on a great part of the game, until one of them told me that they didn’t raid because it was too elitist.

Too elitist? Really?

Really, they said.

And I saw the looks on their faces. They want to raid, they’d love to get in there, but they’re scared. They don’t know how to go about it. It’s all too hard, so they do battlegrounds all day. But they really want to get into a raid. And I told them that for homework they had to check out my blog, (just to up my daily hits, you see), so here for you guys are a few tips on how to get started with raiding.

Get 9 other friends and go into a raid.

Easy, huh? I mean, you’re in a school with 500 other students, how hard can it be to find 9 other WoW freaks? Just get your little group and walk into Karazhan and you’ll be on your merry way.

What’s that? My loyal readership is wondering why I told them to go into a level 70 instance? Oh, you see now. I’m giving them something easy to do so that they get a taste for raiding, right? (And Karazhan is freaky cool, that must be one of my favorite ever raids.)

No, that’s not what I’m doing. You see, the thing is … how do I say this …? They’re playing on a pirate server. All of them. And this server only goes to level 70 at the moment. So when I mentioned raiding, they came out with Karazhan, and I looked at them funny, and then it dawned on me that they’re all being very naughty. All of them.

Now I don’t know very much about pirate servers. Lets be honest, I know jack shit about them. But I am intrigued as to how they work. It’s obvious why these kids are playing on a private server; they’d rather spend their money on beer than WoW and fair enough too I suppose. But even if they wanted to “go clean” they’d have to start again from scratch, they couldn’t just transfer their toons over. And they’ve invested too much time in their characters to abandon them. So they’re stuck in a level 70 limbo, with no disco dancing.

So I’m going to do some research into this pirate server stuff. How does it work? How did they find it? Who buys the puff pastries? And I will report back to you, my loyal readership. I can’t guarantee that it will be earth shattering, but if not, I’ll just make a bunch of stuff up.