I had this written quite a while ago and for some reason didn’t post it. As luck would have it one of the hosts retired during the intervening time. so now I have to do it all over again. Hosted by Starman and Alachia, (I assume this is the name of her in-game toon. If not, then I’m scared), this is your sit-around-the-fire-on-a-cold-winters-night type of podcast. Sit back with a good glass of red, hell a bottle if you’re like me, and listen to a couple of freinds talk about the game that you love. The show is more of the ramble conversation variety. It doesn’t follow the strict Instance method of punching through segment after segment. At the beginning of each episode the two hosts will chat about what they have been doing in WoW over the last few weeks. This can sometimes take a while, but the discussion is usually interesting and thought-provoking, so in this case I’m willing to just let them talk away.

Starman is the main host of the show, and I really have to rate this guy. He has a calm, intelligent and humble approach which makes listening to him a pleasure indeed. What’s great about Starman is the fcat that he is often torn on-air about what to say about a topic. He really cares about this stuff and by nature is not the type to just spew opinions into the nethersphere. He sounds like the kind of dude who wears floor length wool-skin coats and listens to The Pixies while reading Frank Herbert. And I mean that in a nice way. I like this guy. I would want to hang out with him in real life, as long as he occasionally washed the coat. He is fallible, and wears his heart on his sleeve. He’s wrong a lot as well, but it’s all part of the charm.

Alachia took over from long time host, Renata. Renata was a legend. A legend in the sense that she had an awesome ability to talk. Her subject dissection was amazing as she would cover every possible angle while talking through a topic. But she got sick of listening to the sound of her own voice and left a few months ago. It was all very sad and tragic. I’m sure that a lot of Pixies albums were labored over.

So along came Alachia, the new hostess with the mostest. She has her own podcast over at wowcast which I have never listened to so don’t ask me what it’s like, I don’t know. I would listen to it but I have to wash my hair. Anyway, she has joined Starman as his co-host and so far I have to say she has been good … and not so good. In other words hit and miss. Good in the sense that she is able to speak coherently, pronounciate words, doesn’t breathe deeply into the microphone and doesn’t utter really stupid things, as in rogues – pewy-pewy-stabby-stabby, you know what I’m talking about here. Miss in the sense that I don’t think that she wants to play WoW anymore, and it shows. She seems to be marking time until the next big MMO comes along. Actually, that’s what we’re all doing. Maybe this isn’t a miss at all. It’s a giant hit! We love you Alachia!

The podcast features holiday specials which are broadcast whenever there is an in-game holiday event. These run to about 20 minutes and are still done by the legendary Renata, so check out how a human can talk without breathing for 20 minutes. It’s extraordinary. Actually, the holiday episodes are very well done and go over every inch of what the holiday event is about, so check them out if you’re one of those sad people who wants that proto-drake.

World of Warcast is a solid effort. It’s been around for a long time, and paid its dues. They have their finger on the pulse of the current state of the game and they are not afraid to say when they don’t like something. I give this one a strong recomendation.

8/10.

