I didn’t think that I would again find myself writing about the Celestial Steed, or Greed Steed as it has come to be known, but I am. I read somewhere this week on another blog that these micro transactions of pets and now the steed are fine because they are not game changing. Pets, of course, are not game changing. They can annoy the crap out of you if nine out of ten people take out the same one in a raid, but they don’t change the game-play experience. You don’t have any advantage with a pet.

But the comment got me thinking about the pony. Gevlon wrote a few weeks ago about how many of the players in his ganking guild were levelling through Outland without a flying mount, and how dangerous this was on a PvP realm. The reason that they didn’t have a flying mount was that they couldn’t afford one. Maybe they managed to get the gold together for the training but the mount was just out of reach. Let me now quote the Blizzard store:

“Once activated, this World of Warcraft in-game mount key applies to all present and future characters on a single European World of Warcraft license.”

So if you roll a new toon on a new PvP realm, you have your mount, both flying and land. I don’t know if this would be available at level 1 or just when you train each level of riding, but either way this is game changing, make no mistake about it. This micro transaction has a direct effect in game. It could also have an effect on the WoW economy, as players will now have more gold left over during the levelling process to spend on other items instead of mounts. Perhaps this is a small point, perhaps not even worthy of a post, but I just thought that I would mention it.