I hate to say that I was right, but I’m going to do so now. Why? Because it took less than two weeks for the real truth to begin emerging. Let me quote from my post of June 24 regarding the real ID:

“… So I will just not turn it on, right? It’s entirely optional for us to use. Well, the battlenet account was optional too at one point if I remember correctly. The first micro-transaction pet was a one-off as well. The Real ID is in the game now, they have spent a lot of money to set it up so they are going to want us to use it. They did not put this in out of the love of their hearts so teenagers can communicate more. They did it for purely financial reasons, some of which perhaps are not that clear. Right now it is optional. We’ll see about the future.”

What am I talking about? In case you haven’t heard, Blizzard has announced that in order to use their forums you will need to use your Real ID. This is only the first announcement, make no mistake about it. As I said, they did not spend all this money developing this system just so we could see a few buddies online. WoWriots response to this was just brilliance.

So, any more doubters that the real ID was a stupid idea because it was going to be used for purposes which we didn’t know about?

