So some random thoughts for today. I’ll just throw these out there as they come to me and you can ignore them as is your want.

Gold in Cataclysm.

I’ve never been much of a gold player. I tend to always have enough gold to get what I need but I’m not one to play the Auction House regularly. I also am usually pretty generous with my profession services for guildies and friends. I’m more of a barter system user: you need me to cut you some gems? What are your professions? Oh, you’re a scribe. OK, then I’ll do this for you and when I need some glyphs I’ll let you know. That’s how I tend to roll. I had Enchanting maxed in Wrath until I dropped it for mining because I wanted to gather up mats for an eventual idea of power levelling engineering. A lot of people said I was mad to drop 450 Enchanting, but coming into Cataclysm it has been the best gold decision that I have ever made.

I began Cataclysm with about 1800 gold, and from selling stacks of ore and raw gems from prospecting ore when the ore price began to drop, I have made almost 20,000 gold. And this is from someone who never tries with this sort of thing. It just seems like gold is a low hanging fruit in Cataclysm thus far. Or that I have the two best professions for this expansion. Now I’m getting rare cuts that other JC’s aren’t bothering with and making a nice profit from buying raw blue gems for 75g and selling them cut for about 300g. This is really good for me for when I begin raiding with The PuG, as they got a boss down last night and the items went for an average of 7000g each.

Apparently there is a real shortage of DPS in the raid group, they have tonnes of healers and tanks. But when they posted the recount data last night after they downed the boss the numbers were up around 23,000dps. Now I know that they have raid buffs in there but I’m not even coming close to those sort of numbers, so it looks like I’m going to have to farm heroics for a little bit before I stick my hand up to raid.

One of my guildies asked me if I could help him out with some mats for a nice top hat. He needed me to pickpocket some Polished Bronze Rivets. I said that I could do that no problem. Well, let me tell you, these babies are hard to find. I’ve managed to find just 2 of them out of quite a lot of mobs with empty pockets. There are none on the AH so I have no idea how much they would list for. Wowhead had them at 250g each yesterday but today they’re at 7 silver. Go figure that out. Anyway, it looks like pickpocketing is going to be very rewardiing for rogues this expansion. Go check out Daria’s post on this at Ravenholdt Manor.

Yesterday I got invited to run a rated battleground with the guild. It was Warsong Gulch, (I have no idea if it is always this or if they randomly change), and in the waiting room our plan was told to us: everyone run together and zerg their flag and get ours back. I had a sinking feeling at hearing this, but went along with it, and of course we lost. We might have all been from the same guild, and we might have all been in there with the same idea, but it wasn’t much use at all. Here is a little hint for players wanting to do rated battlegrounds: you are going to need to have voice communication, full stop. There is no choice here. You cannot type instructions and expect players to see them immediately when they are in the midst of fighting. You also cannot react quickly enough to the changing dynamics and communicate your directions without voice chat. Particularly as the vast majority of opposing teams will have this themselves. When I first began WoW many years ago I played quite a few battlegrounds with a set team. The leader of this team never got himself involved in the action. He just found a nice spot out of the way where he could see everything and issued instructions. I don’t think we ever lost a battle. You’re going to need to do the same thing here.

There was a moment when I typed something in raid chat to communicate a strategy that I perceived the horde to be executing. The response I got immediately from another player was, “no ****.” I was extremely surprised at this coming from a guildmember of The PuG. I was also very annoyed by this point, and when the same player told me to do what I was already doing I responded back in kind with a ‘no shit’, something of which I was not proud of and immediately regretted. Once again I communicated in chat that the horde were doing something and once again I got rude comments as it seemed that I was stating the obvious. The run degenerated into name calling and the usual social moron platitudes that I have seen so many times in random BG’s and that I had hoped never to see in a guild run. It was very depressing. I can only assume that players are so indoctrinated to behave badly in battlegrounds that they do it without thinking. Still, it’s no excuse, and if the guild wants to do these runs then we’re going to have to clean up our act.