Today was a big day for me in Elder Scrolls Online; I joined a guild and I ran my first dungeon, in that order. First the guild. It’s been a bit of a lonely experience so far in game, but up until now I had resisted the many abject expressions of sheer desperation in general chat advertising for people to join a guild. Mostly because they had the dreaded word ‘social’ in high proximity as some sort of badge of honor. Obviously nothing is more prone to sending me running for the hills. But today I saw a one-off advert in general chat for a rogue guild, promising nothing but tough love and possible in-house assassination. So I decided, what the heck – what’s the worse that can happen?

(Editor – A lot, and most of it bad, that’s what. But if you must persist with this I can see no other option but to tell you I told you so in the very near future.)

I got an invite and they were friendly without being fawning. The guild bank is jammed full of goodies, and there’s over 150 members spread over the three factions. Then I was wandering through one of the main towns when a quest caught my eye to run the first instance in the game, Spindleclutch. It’s for levels 12-15 and I was sitting at level 17 so I figured I’d be okay. I found the entrance where a few people were milling about. Someone invited me to a group and then I was in.

The group sucked, but, let me finish, they sucked in a nice way. They didn’t know what they were doing, and I sure as hell didn’t know what I was doing, and we died a lot, and we eventually called in some help from my guild, (not having a healer was somewhat of an oversight.) And then we made it through only dying a few more times and I got some sick loots and everyone was very happy and shook hands at the end promising to meet up next time we’re online.

Simply delightful. Too delightful, in fact. This is the point in the narrative where everything usually goes to shit. It didn’t though. What a marvelous MMO experience. It was like old times in Burning Crusade.

I capped it off with stumbling on a crafting station out in the wilderness that enables you to craft dungeon sets if you have the mats and knowledge. I had some of them so I crafted my very first blue set piece in ESO – a sword from the Night’s Silence set. All in all a very productive day in Elder Scrolls.