In my quest to find info about Vanilla WoW I have been going back through blogger’s archives to see what they were doing when WoW came out. However, out of all the bloggers I know the earliest start dates are usually around 2008. You could call that year the turning of the tide on WoW blogging. There is one blogger though that has been steadily writing almost every day for quite some time and he has an extensive wealth of production around 2004-2006 when WoW was at its vanilla best. That blogger is Tobold, and I have been perusing his archives the last few days. Now, Tobold and I have had our disagreements in the past. Simply put, I called him rude names after I disagreed with a bunch of his opinions and he thinks I’m a big bad meany. A lot of people don’t get me because I do two things: I say what I think but I’m also more than happy to sit down and have a coffee and a chat with someone who I have had hard core disagreements with. Mostly this is due to the fact that I’m really not a big bad meany at all, but it’s also because I love finding common ground with people and I believe that you can often learn valuable lessons from those with whom you disagree the most.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not asking Tobold out for coffee, and I doubt that he would come anyway. But as I read through his writings on playing the original WoW at its time of release a few things struck me. The first was just how lucky he was to have been there at the beginning and experience content as it was released, say battlegrounds for example. Damn, I am jealous of him for that. The second is that there is some great information to find in his lengthy WoW diaries from that period, but not only that it’s quite entertaining.

It also made me think of the newbie blogging initiative from last year that I piled scorn on. My feelings towards that still stand as before. Not only that, but reading Tobold’s archives is an outstanding example of what you have to do to be a successful blogger. You need to put a lot of effort into what you are doing for very little reward. In other words you’re doing this for the love of writing, for the love of communication, not for people telling you how great you are or for huge numbers of hits. In those archives Tobold is plugging away, day after day, and for the most part he is looking at zero comments on each and every post. But he keeps writing and there is the occasional comment that pops up like a lonely gift. As a writer and a blogger I think that his effort back then was simply awesome, and it’s a valuable documentation of what the game was like in its infancy.

Of course the other way of getting hits as a new blogger is to start wars with more famous bloggers. But I’d never do a thing like that …

