Been a few weeks since a post on my part. I’ve been busy. Doing stuff. Stuff where you have to walk around in real life. In other words, not sitting at a keyboard. We all have our cross to bare. Me, I’ve got a few.

But after walking away from TESO faster than seats being evacuated next to someone with a runny nose, I settled my sights on ArcheAge. Normally I wouldn’t consider a Korean free to play in a blue moon but a few things attracted me to it, not least the fact that Tobold continues to hate it without ever having played the game. Tobold is my own personal barometer for considering a game’s relative value – if he hates it then it must be good, and vice versa.

I also went and joined Syncaine’s new guild in ArcheAge. I mean, why not? I had a great time with Gevlon on all his WoW-inspired projects and capers, and Syncaine has the same refreshingly upbeat outlook on life as Gevlon does so this was a no-brainer for me. Also, considering the fact that real estate is so damn hard to come by in this game, I figured that the support of a guild was an all-inclusive this time, as opposed to a sideline take-it-or-leave-it option in TESO.

I’m only level 20 after a couple of weeks of playing due to real life commitments at this time. But one thing I did do was sub after a very short period of time. There were a few reasons for that – if you want to get the most out of the game it’s a must, and I have no problem paying for such a solid game. AA makes TESO look like the empty shell that it is. This is a living breathing world that is populated by the players, not the npcs. To say it’s refreshing is a severe understatement. There are many problems of course, not limited to Trion’s almost total incompetence at running an IP which has resulted in the most severe case of hacker and gold selling frenzy I have ever seen. But my solution was to turn off local chat which while restricting some information intake is the only real way to deal with the situation.

We have our first guild run this weekend but I have still got quite a few levels to go. Hopefully I’ll be there soon, but I am quite enjoying the ride. It’s nice to do that knowing that there is a damn good endgame by all accounts waiting for me.

