I’m still in ArcheAge and enjoying it, but goddam this game has been having some problems lately. With exploits galore, bots rampant, gold sellers going nuts, (and by the way, it now seems that mail sent by gold sellers in game can’t be deleted for some reason – the only option is just to send it back. Which is fucking bizarre), and players deserting the game and going back to WoW.

I have no intention of going back to WoW as I have seen the sandbox light. If ArcheAge goes under I still have some tasty sandbox morsels on the horizon such as Camelot Unchained. But the thing that really makes me scratch my head with puzzlement over the ArcheAge debacle is what is going on at Trion.

Let me explain a little something to you. In my working experience which has covered a wide variety of fields all over the world I can confidently put anyone I have worked with into two broad categories. Those who take pride in their work, no matter what it is, and those that do not. The ones who take pride in whatever it is they’re doing tend to be vastly outnumbered. And taking pride isn’t just trying to do the best you can. It’s also about not taking advantage of people or situations for the wrong reasons. It means you possess ethics.

If I were working at Trion in some management position of importance to this game, I wouldn’t be able to take any pride in my work at the moment. There are just too many stuff-ups, and too much belated response. Which leads me to believe that nobody who matters at Trion actually gives a shit about ArcheAge which means they don’t take pride in their work. And if this is true then the game really is doomed. They might be able to plaster over some holes but fundamentally it will stay the same. You can’t fake taking pride anymore than you can fake sincerity. After all, they are one and the same thing.

In the meantime I’ll keep playing away, watching the price of land fall further and further, (you can pick up an 8X8 pretty easily for 50 gold right now), and getting myself to the level cap. And I’ll keep hoping that someone at Trion will step up and start taking some fucking pride in their work.

