Target Australia, under pressure from activist groups, banned the sale of GTA V to very little moaning from the broader internet gaming community. It seems that if the government wants to censor games then that is bad, but if a private company bows to censorship then that is fine and it’s just capitalism, man. Cause you know, freedom of choice and everything. At least you think that way if you have a brain about the size of a fucking peanut. Good on you once again, Damion Schubert. Really, since discovering his blog it’s been a endless parade of fail-hit after fail-hit. One to keep the juices of any bastard flowing.

But the part of his post that best sums up people’s miserable understanding of how the world actually works is in the comments section. Halfeatenmoon says:

“… I went to a Target (Australia) shop the other day. Within a few minutes’ walk there were two other shops I could buy GTA V from, if I wanted to. I’m not all that worried about my freedom …”

Their mistake is assuming that the activists involved will be satisfied with hitting Target. Rule number numero uno with activists and do-gooders in general – they are never satisfied, they are only emboldened.

But this is the great apathy trait that covers most of society in a globulous hardened mold. “As long as I’m not being specifically bothered, then I don’t really give a shit.” Which is the way it’s always gone throughout history. The most famous quote in this aspect is the one by Martin Niemöller:

“… In Germany, they came first for the Communists, And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist;
And then they came for the trade unionists, And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist;
And then they came for the Jews, And I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew;
And then . . . they came for me . . . And by that time there was no one left to speak up …”

And this apathetic worldview is the reason why the vast majority of gamers and gaming bloggers don’t care about Gamergate. But it’s also the reason why the movement is so important. The Hard Left have always counted on society’s apathy to take over institutions, but this is the first time that there has been a committed push back. Sure GamerGate is about corruption in journalism, but at its underlying core it is about drawing a line in the sand and not bowing to the activists or their methods of attack.

If they ban it from one store, then you don’t care cause there’s another down the road.
And if they ban it from that store, then there’s one around the corner.
And if they ban it from all the stores then you’ll just download it from the internet.
And if they ban it from the internet well … you’re now a criminal for playing a game.
And laws are enforced by people carrying guns.

