Some of you may be aware of the maelstrom of controversy that has engulfed the science fiction and fantasy publishing world over the sad puppies and rabid puppies campaigns over the Hugo awards. If you’re not, then it’s a something you may want to have a look at if you’re interested in the push-back in the culture wars against the SJW morlocks and Marxist hordes. An excellent place to get started is this round-up of posts by the author John C Wright:

Suggested Reading for Sad Puppy Backstory

The drama around Tor books, a subsidiary of Macmillan, is in response to statements made by Tor staff about their own readership. Irene Gallo, an associate publisher and creative editor at Tor books said this:

“… There are two extreme right-wing to neo-nazi groups, called the Sad Puppies and Rabid Puppies respectively, that are calling for the end of social justice in science fiction and fantasy. They are unrepentantly racist, misogynist, and homophobic. A noisy few but they’ve been able to gather some Gamergate folks around them and elect a slate of bad-to-reprehensible works on this year’s Hugo ballot…”

The readership did not take well to this libel and Tor were asked to deal with the matter. Their response has been nonexistent. I mean, it’s pretty weird that a company would label their own customers this way, but that is what they have done. And it seems that the powers at be at Tor are either struck dumb with indecision or are actively complicit in this drama. Having dismissed all those people emailing them in protest as ‘bots’, (which was interesting to me as I myself sent some emails and I’m pretty sure I’m not a robot, although at times I fear my wife has cause to disagree), Tor were given adequate time to issue a statement, any statement, to deal with the situation.

None came. So the boycott of Tor books has been called. I have 16 books published by Tor in my personal library. Not only will I no longer be purchasing books from Tor again, I intend to dump my books on the secondhand market at cheap prices. This is in response to this post from Moshe Feder at Tor books. It seems that he thinks any commercial issues will be averted by people buying a Tor book for a day.

Even John C Wright, one of Tor’s own published writers, is unable to express support for Tor in this situation. Make your own minds up, dear readers. But rest assured that the culture wars have not been lost. They were only originally winning in the first place because our side couldn’t be bothered turning up. Now it’s on.